Wisden Honours Shikhar Dhawan

Back in 1889, Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack (or simply Wisden or colloquially “the Bible of Cricket”) started honouring the best five cricketers of the world as Cricketers of the Year, selected for the excellence of their performance in the previous English summer, by the editor. It’s an honour that can be won by a player only once.

Shikhar Dhawan (28) was selected for his performance in 2013 by being the highest run-scorer amassing as many as 363 runs at an average of 90.75 and being adjudged the Player of the Tournament, during India’s triumph at the International Cricket Council’s second-biggest One-day event. In the event, Dhawan scored centuries against South Africa and the West Indies.
As the 19th Indian to have been so honoured, Dhawan follows in the distinguished footsteps of:
• K.S. Ranjjitsinhji – 1897
• K.S. Duleepsinhji – 1930
• Nawab of Pataudi, Sr. – 1932
• C.K. Nayudu – 1933
• Vijay Merchant – 1937
• Vinoo Mankad – 1947
• Nawab of Pataudi, Jr. – 1968
• B.S. Chandrasekhar – 1972
• Sunil Gavaskar – 1980
• Kapil Dev – 1983
• Mohinder Amarnath – 1984
• Dilip Vengsarkar – 1987
• Mohd Azharuddin – 1991
• Anil Kumble – 1996
• Sachin Tendulkar – 1997
• Rahul Dravid – 2000
• V.V.S. Laxman – 2002
• Zaheer Khan – 2008

The other four to be picked by Wisden for their outstanding performances in 1913, are Australia’s Chris Rogers and Ryan Harris and English batsman Joe Root along with the English women’s team’s captain Charlotte Edwards. She is, incidentally, only the second woman to have been so honoured by the editor of Wisden.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: